Ad Astra Per Aspera

Vaclav Havel was a great inspiration for me, I guess just as for any other child of post-communist transition. If I had to pick one of his essays, speeches, articles that I admire much, I would probably go for either “The Power of the powerless” or his  January 1, 1990 New Year’s Address to the Nation. Here is a full text of his speech and I wish to share it with you. My deepest condolences.

“People, your government has returned to you!”

Vaclav Havel’s New Year’s Address to the Nation, 1990

My dear fellow citizens,

For forty years you heard from my predecessors on this day different variations on the same theme: how our country was flourishing, how many million tons of steel we produced, how happy we all were, how we trusted our government, and what bright perspectives were unfolding in front of us.

I assume you did not…

View original post 2,871 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

