The Sage Abyss

I’ve talked a fair bit about the historical period around the time of King Arthur since it’s become a point of interest for me from a historical research period. It’s interesting to see how different historical writers place the mythological king within the known history of the rise of Britain.

And that’s all well and good, it really is. But today I think I shall finally explain to you fine people what I mean when I refer to the Hero Cycle in fiction, before I tell you how King Arthur completely changed it.

Well… not completely… I mean… just… well follow me on this.

Okay, if you follow Joseph Campbell at all you’d know that his big infamous contribution to humanity was the discussion and naming of the monomyth or the Hero’s Journey to which I refer to as the Hero’s Cycle. Mostly because it’s always depicted as a circle…

View original post 832 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

