Straight from the Source

As we were walking off of the plane in Ben Gurion Airport, it hit me: I was in Israel!  I was in disbelief for about 30 minutes as we waited for security.  My entire life I knew nothing of Israel but that it had no right to take away land from the Palestinians.  And while I dubbed myself a liberal and intellectual, as I learned more about the conflict and immersed myself in Jewish thought, I felt uncomfortable walking in the airport.  Was I a hypocrite for being in this country?  Was I just dreaming when I thought that I can forget my past and come to terms with the present?  Was I really as tolerant as I hoped I was? These were all questions I had to face, answer and challenge.

As we drove into Jerusalem and walked around, I realized that I could literally feel the history of…

View original post 537 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

