Christmas – a day for family and running around like a maniac

Meanderings in a life

So, this was a family Christmas – a back-home Christmas, and it was wonderful. I haven’t been in Canada for this time of year in six years, and while I was away, I minimized it in my mind, so that I would miss it less. But actually, I had also been feeling a bit jaded about Christmas for most of my adulthood anyway. I tried to cancel presents (with no success) for several years. I took to wrapping my presents for people in towels and scarves, so that at least I wouldn’t be contributing to the waste of throwing wrapping paper in the garbage. I showed up at my mother’s house for Christmas eve dinner one year, hopelessly drunk after an impromptu staff party at the hotel I worked in the cafe of (God knows how I navigated the buses that evening), and proceeded to curl up on the hallway…

View original post 218 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

