The Difference Between Euclidean and Non Euclidean Geometry

Elika Kurniadi

1.1 Euclidean Geometry
The geometry with which we are most familiar is called Euclidean geometry. Euclidean geometry was named after Euclid, a Greek mathematician who lived in 300 BC. His book, called “The Elements”, is a collection of axioms, theorems and proofs about squares, circles acute angles, isosceles triangles, and other such things. Most of the theorems which are taught in high schools today can be found in Euclid’s 2000 year old book.

Euclid had decreed five postulates which became the bases for geometry :

1. Between any two points is a straight line

2. A straight line can be extended infinitely in either direction

3. Any center and any radius can describe a circle

4. All right angles are equal

5. Any two straight lines equidistant from one another at two points are infinitely parallel

Euclidean geometry is of great practical value. It has been used by the ancient…

View original post 778 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s